NAC's success has been widely recognized. In creating a cost-effective model to help an extremely fragile population, NAC has become a well-known example of an effective agency. As a result, a diverse group of organizations has honored our achievements.

Robin Hood Award

Executive Director, Arlene Goldsmith, was the recipient of the prestigious Hero Award from the Robin Hood Foundation in 1998. Dr. Goldsmith was honored on behalf of her work with NAC for outstanding leadership in the fight against poverty.

Robert Wood Johnson Community Health Leader Award

Dr. Goldsmith was named one of ten "extraordinary Americans recognized for local innovation in improving health and health care" in 1994 by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. Along with receiving a Robert Wood Johnson Community Health Leader Award, Dr. Goldsmith was given a $100,000 grant for NAC.

Adoption Excellence Award

NAC's outstanding permanency and post-adoption outcomes were nationally recognized in 2008 by the US Department of Health and Human Services. NAC was one of only 20 agencies across the nation to be presented with an Adoption Excellence Award.

Samuel P. Peabody Award for Community Activism

As a recipient of the Samuel P. Peabody Award for Community Activism from the Citizens' Committee for Children of New York, NAC was recognized for its vision, innovation and dedication to children and families.

Other Awards

Since NAC's earliest days, its leadership, innovative programming and commitment to children in need have been recognized for going above and beyond. Other awards and special recognition include:

  • Award for Outstanding Mentoring Program presented by Big Brothers Big Sisters of NYC (2008)
  • Keystone Award from the Federation of Protestant Welfare Agencies (2005)
  • Mutual Of New York (MONY) Volunteer Incentive Program First Place Winner (2003)
  • Martin Luther King Jr. Governor's Healthy Community Expo Award (2002)
  • Lewis Hine Award from the National Child Labor Committee (1998)
  • First Place Award for Improvement in the Quality of Life for People with Disabilities presented by the National Safety Council (1997)
  • National Association for the Care of Children's Health Award for Innovation (1993)
  • No Time to Lose Award presented by the New York State Department of Social Services (1992)

Copyright© 2008-2021 New Alternatives for Children, Inc.

37 West 26th St. New York, NY 10010 | 1775 Grand Concourse Bronx, NY 10453